Café Luxembourg, NYC 2

August 5, 2008

On August 2, 2008, Kent and I went to the Café Luxembourg before a performance of South Pacific at Lincoln Center.There was a nice welcome. I ordered a glass of chardonnay.

Kent’s first course was
Crisp Zucchini Blossoms with ricotta, pesto and tomato fondue

The zucchini flowers were nice and crisp.

My starter was
Corn Ravioli and Summer Truffles with locally grown sweet corn and Tuscan Romano

I usually think of summer truffles as an oxymoron, but I ordered this dish to enjoy fresh corn, of which I do not get enough in the city, and certainly not in France. The corn mush was very sweet and good. The truffle slices were surprisingly flavorful.

Kent’s main course was
Long Island Duck Breast with escarole, sweet and sour cherries and duck jus

He said that he enjoyed it.

I went on to a daily special
Grilled swordfish with Chanterelles and green beans.

The fish was delicious and still moist inside despite the nice charred grilling.

For dessert we both had the
Frozen Banana Pecan Souffle with hot fudge

The fudge was not just in the dots, but was a runny filling to the iced soufflée. Surprisingly, it was not too sweet.

The meal had been fine, somewhat above my modest expectations. We had plenty of time before the show and were not rushed by the waiters as we had been previously. The noise level was reasonable. Café Luxembourg is definitely on my approved list for pre-Lincoln Center dining.

For my previous blogpost click here.

http://www.cafeluxembourg.com

Leave a Reply

